top of page
  • Writer's picturerebecca-mc

Power Controller for Racecar/Electric Vehicle

I used linear (LQR) and nonlinear (feedback linearization) techniques to control power in a nonlinear motor for an electric vehicle. I created the models and controllers in MATLAB and Simulink and tested them against requirements.


This was my project for two graduate controls classes I took my senior year of MIT: 2.151 (Advanced System Dynamics and Control) and 2.152 (Nonlinear Control). The project was inspired by a teammate's previous work on this control problem on the MIT FSAE team.


A Simulink block diagram of the nonlinear feedback linearization controller is shown below.


As shown below, the project explored the concept of a unified controller (top), which enables higher bandwidth control than the previous solution of a nested controller (bottom).

This project strengthened my knowledge of control techniques for highly nonlinear systems as well as my ability to translate a real-life controls problem into a well-formulated set of control requirements.

16 views0 comments
bottom of page