top of page
  • Writer's picturerebecca-mc

Tesla Powertrain Modeling: Performance and HV Shock Safety

I modeled high voltage system leakage, developing a new procedure to optimize isolation resistance and Y-capacitance requirements for safety and feasibility on Tesla’s next-generation vehicles.


Additionally, implemented a controller in Simulink to optimally regulate battery temperatures during fast-charging. I refined my technical communication skills by presenting my project to Tesla senior engineers and generating graphical reports to communicate simulation results to company leadership.


I completed these projects in summer 2020 while interning in the Systems Architecture and Powertrain Performance Modeling group at Tesla. Further details unfortunately cannot be provided due to NDA.


This experience strengthened my expertise in systems design and my ability to approach complex unsolved problems. I also gained an appreciation for the importance of infrastructure, supply chain, and safety constraints in bringing an emerging renewable technology to market.


19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page